NL Gold Glovers Announced

Congratulations to the 2009 National League Gold Glove Winners:

C: Yadier Molina (2nd GG)
1B: Adrian Gonzalez (2nd GG)
2B: Orlando Hudson (4th GG)
3B: Ryan Zimmerman
SS: Jimmy Rollins (3rd GG)
OF: Shane Victorino (2nd GG)
OF: Michael Bourn Astros
OF: Matt Kemp
P: Adam Wainwright

Jimmy Rollins and Shane Victorino each won a National League Gold Glove Award at their respective positions. This is the eleventh time in franchise history that the Phillies have had multiple Gold Glove winners.

With the award, Rollins becomes the first Phillie to win three consecutive Gold Gloves since Mike Schmidt. Rollins led all shortstops with a .990 fielding percentage. His six errors were the fewest in baseball among qualified players.

Victorino wins his second consecutive Gold Glove. Victorino had the second best fielding percentage among all outfielders (.997).

While Rollins and Victorino were honored, Chase Utley was snubbed. Utley had a 10.8 Ultimate Zone Rating, which was the best among NL second baseman. Orlando Hudson, the NL second base Gold Glove winner, had a UZR of -3.3. With that being said, Victorino probably wasn't the best option either. He had a -4.1 UZR.

Blog Notes: Make sure you take the Swing and a Long Drive Survey! Also, in honor of Veterans Day, More Hardball has the best games at Veterans Stadium.


Post a Comment