NL Cy Young: Tim Lincecum

In mid-September, Swing and a Long Drive discussed who should win the Cy Young in 2008. Yes, the stats have changed slightly since the time of that article, but not enough to change our minds. Tim Lincecum was our pick, and Tim Lincecum is the 2008 National League Cy Young winner.

Lincecum received 137 points to win the Cy Young. He beat out Brandon Webb, who finished second with 73 points. Johan Santana followed Webb, and Brad Lidge and Ryan Dempster followed Lincecum.

Not exactly, our top 5 as Santana, Hamels and Dempster should have finished in front of Webb, but Lincecum deservedly won the Cy Young, so that is all that matters.

Lincecum, 18-5, finished the year with a 2.62 ERA for the San Francisco Giants in 227 IP. He led all of baseall with 265 strikeouts. He had a WHIP of 1.17 and batters hit just .221 off him.

This could be the first Cy Young of many for Lincecum. Lincecum is just 24 years of age, and is dominating at the Major League level.


Post a Comment